VSAM Edit Sharing Options panel

The VSAM Edit Sharing Options panel presents options which apply only when editing VSAM files that are potentially being shared by other users.

This is the case for the Z Data Tools base product when a KSDS SHAREOPTIONS 3 or SHAREOPTIONS 4 file is edited. It is also the case when a (non-KSDS) SHAREOPTIONS 3 or SHAREOPTIONS 4 file can not be allocated to the TSO session as DISP=OLD. Instead, the file is allocated DISP=SHR to allow access to the file and the edit continues with the restriction of inplace editing mode. Alternatively, this could be a CICS® file accessed through the Z Data Tools CICS product. In either of the above cases, these sharing options become active. These options are designed to provide improved useability for those files that are in such a shared environment.

Panel and field definitions

Figure 1. VSAM Edit Sharing Options panel
  Process   Options   Help
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
 Z Data Tools              VSAM Edit Sharing Options


 These options apply only when editing VSAM files that are being shared.


  Autosave frequency                     

 Options for the CHANGE ALL command
  SAVE before starting                Enter ON or OFF.
  Change all autosave frequency          
  Auto retry for change all           Enter ON or OFF.



 Command ===>                                                                  
  F1=Help      F2=Split     F3=Exit      F4=CRetriev  F7=Backward  F8=Forward
  F9=Swap     F10=Actions  F12=Cancel
Autosave frequency
For shared files, issue a AUTOSAVE command after a given number of changes. Set this value to 0 if you do not want an AUTOSAVE command to be issued.
SAVE before starting
When operating on a shared file, during a CHANGE command with the ALL operand, this option determines if a SAVE is issued before commencing the change.

Setting this ON ensures that any updates made to the file so far are saved. During the CHANGE ALL process, when using AUTORTRY (and a CHGASAVE value), the change process may need to refresh records as it goes (due to concurrent updates by other users). That refresh may discard other updates that had been made in this edit session to records on the file. To issue a SAVE before the CHANGE commences, and therefore ensure the state of the records that have been updated, leave the setting at ON.

Change all autosave frequency
This option applies specifically to the operation of the CHANGE command when used with the ALL parameter. Similar to the AUTOSAVE option above, it provides the ability to save records after a given number of changes. If used, the changes are counted at the record level. That is, if a record is changed (regardless of how many times the CHANGE command changed that record), it is counted as one change. When the number of records changed reaches the number set in this option, a SAVE command is issued and the CHANGE command continues.
Auto retry for change all
This option applies specifically to the operation of the CHANGE command when used with the ALL parameter. This option controls the action taken when a SAVE command is issued during operation of the CHANGE command and another user has updated a record while the change was running. If this option is set ON, the CHANGE command refreshes (that is, it rereads) the record that this occurred on and attempts to reapply the change.

If this option is OFF, each time Z Data Tools detects that the record was updated before the CHANGE command saved the record, Z Data Tools displays a popup window that gives you the choice of updating the record anyway, refreshing the record and reapplying the update, or aborting the CHANGE command.

Child panels

  • None.

Equivalent functions

  • None.